Main exhibition

Broken Bonds

Ludovic Balland, Paula Bulling/Anne König, Christiane Eisler/Silke Geister, Forensic Architecture, Nicolas Giraud/Bertrand Stofleth, Matthias Hoch, Jonathan Horowitz, Susanne Kriemann, Harald Kirschner, Alexander Kluge, Ferdinand Kriwet, Ute Mahler, Emanuel Mathias, Anastasia Potemkina, Andreas Rost, Miklós Klaus Rózsa, Erich Salomon, Christoph Schäfer, Andrzej Steinbach, Bertrand Stofleth, Steffen Zillig, a.o.

More and more often elections and referendums lead to a result that is little more than a stalemate: from the Brexit to the presidential election in the US to the slow and tedious formation of a coalition government in Germany. The positions held by the competing political groups are often so entrenched that mediation seems virtually impossible: Broken Bonds. New forms of digital communication and increasing social segregation lead to life in a kind of “personal bubble”. Algorithms serve to reinforce one’s own views, as they show and suggest items in tune with things one has already “liked”. Something essential to any modern society is lost: diversity—and the necessity of continual communicative exchange.

 

How can photography draw our attention to general societal dynamics that are not always easy to come to terms with? In what ways can it now be a medium of democracy and societal communication? How can mediation and communication processes be documented by means of photography? These are the questions that the 8th Festival for Photography f/stop addresses with a range of exhibitions at the Baumwollspinnerei and other venues in Leipzig. With a project that examines the year 1990 we show how photography can serve as a means to revisit and remember historical periods and to initiate and advance a process of societal dialogue. The festival places equal emphasis on the medium of drawing. As a counterpart and corrective to photography drawing is now again assuming increasing importance.

 

The main exhibition in Halle 12 shows works by international artists that examine long-term societal developments that affect everyday life. One example is the work “La Vallée” (2013 – 2018) by Nicolas Giraud and Bertrand Stofleth, a long-term photographic project that documents the decline of the oldest industrial region in France—the area between the cities of Lyon and Saint-Étienne. In a similar manner Susanne Kriemann explores the landscape of the Erzgebirge on the border between Germany and the Czech Republic after uranium mining operations there came to an end. William Faulkner’s adage “The past is never dead. It’s not even past,” suggests that what we call history is in reality the radiological discharges of society. Many lines of past conflict thus appear to be especially active, radiating into the present, with enough energy to last far into the future.

 

In exploring the high frequency communication of ideas and the continual disruption of this communication now typical of the mass media, many works in the exhibition focus on the “afterlife” of momentary events and their long-term effects. For his work “American Readers at Home” the Swiss photographer, book designer, and photographer Ludovic Balland travelled through the United States leading up to the election in 2016 and asked citizens what they recall from the news items of the previous day.

 

 

Halle 12
Broken Bonds: Incidents of Long Duration

Paula Bulling­/­Anne König, Christiane Eisler­/­Silke Geister, Forensic Architecture, Nicolas Giraud­/­Bertrand Stofleth, Matthias Hoch, Susanne Kriemann, Harald Kirschner, Alexander Kluge, Emanuel Mathias, Anastasia Potemkina, Andreas Rost, Miklós Klaus Rózsa, Erich Salomon, Christoph Schäfer, Andrzej Steinbach, Steffen Zillig a.o.

Halle 14C
Broken Bonds: My Land/Your Land. Electioneering in the USA

Ludovic Balland, Jonathan Horowitz, Ferdinand Kriwet

Galerie Dukan, Halle 18
Broken Bonds: Ibrahim Böhme

Ute Mahler

Spinnerei archiv massiv, Halle 20A
f/stop Print: In Hospital

Ludwig Kuffer, Andreas Langfeld, Elisabeth Neudörfl, Timm Rautert

 

 

 

Fr, 22. 6. 2018

19:00
Opening Festival and f/stop Accomplices    
21:00 –
04:00
f/stop Party with Carlotta Jacobi (Feat. Fem), Kanne (IILW), Dorothy Parker (Cry Baby), CMD Q (KANN), Qnete 777 Recordings, from 21:00 at f/stop Garden next to Halle 12, from 23:00 at V (Halle 16)    

Sa, 23. 6. 2018

10:00 –
11:00
Tour of the exhibitions with curators Anne König and Jan Wenzel, meeting point: festival centre    
11:00 –
19:00
Hourly guided tours of the exhibitions with students of the Institute of Art History of the University of Leipzig. Under the direction of Prof. Dr. Tanja Zimmermann and in the framework of the project module “Broken Bonds. Art and Democratic Processes”. Meeting point: Festival centre    

Su, 24. 6. 2018

10:00 –
11:00
Tour of the exhibitions with curators Anne König and Jan Wenzel, meeting point: festival centre    
11:00 –
19:00
Hourly guided tours of the exhibitions with students of the Institute of Art History of the University of Leipzig. Meeting point: festival centre    

Mo, 25. 6. 2018

15:00 –
19:00
Hourly guided tours of the exhibitions with students of the Institute of Art History of the University of Leipzig. Meeting point: festival centre    

Tu, 26. 6. 2018

15:00 –
19:00
Hourly guided tours of the exhibitions with students of the Institute of Art History of the University of Leipzig. Meeting point: festival centre    

We, 27. 6. 2018

15:00 –
19:00
Hourly guided tours of the exhibitions with students of the Institute of Art History of the University of Leipzig. Meeting point: festival centre    

Th, 28. 6. 2018

15:00 –
19:00
Hourly guided tours of the exhibitions with students of the Institute of Art History of the University of Leipzig. Meeting point: festival centre    

Fr, 29. 6. 2018

14:00 –
15:00
Ute Mahler im Gespräch mit Anne König    
15:00 –
19:00
Hourly guided tours of the exhibitions with students of the Institute of Art History of the University of Leipzig. Meeting point: festival centre    

Sa, 30. 6. 2018

10:00 –
11:00
Tour of the exhibitions with curators Anne König and Jan Wenzel, meeting point: festival centre    
11:00 –
19:00
Hourly guided tours of the exhibitions with students of the Institute of Art History of the University of Leipzig. Meeting point: festival centre    

Su, 1. 7. 2018

10:00 –
11:00
Tour of the exhibitions with curator Anne König. Meeting Point: festival centre    
11:00 –
19:00
Hourly guided tours of the exhibitions with students of the Institute of Art History of the University of Leipzig. Meeting point: festival centre

Hauptausstellung

Zerrissene Gesellschaft

Ludovic Balland, Paula Bulling/Anne König, Christiane Eisler/Silke Geister, Forensic Architecture, Nicolas Giraud/Bertrand Stofleth, Matthias Hoch, Jonathan Horowitz, Susanne Kriemann, Harald Kirschner, Alexander Kluge, Ferdinand Kriwet, Ute Mahler, Emanuel Mathias, Anastasia Potemkina, Andreas Rost, Miklós Klaus Rózsa, Erich Salomon, Christoph Schäfer, Andrzej Steinbach, Bertrand Stofleth, Steffen Zillig u.a.

Immer öfter führen Wahlen oder Plebiszite zu einem Votum, das auf ein Patt hinausläuft: vom Brexit, über die Präsidentschaftswahlen in den USA bis zur zäh verlaufenden Regierungsbildung in Deutschland. Oft sind die Argumente zwischen den konkurrierenden politischen Gruppen so verhärtet, dass eine Vermittlung nur schwer möglich scheint: Zerrissene Gesellschaft. Die neuen digitalen Kommunikationsformen und die zunehmende soziale Segregation befördern ein Leben in der „eigenen Blase“. Algorithmen bestätigen die eigene Weltsicht, indem sie das in den Vordergrund rücken, was man „liked“. Verloren geht dabei, was moderne Gesellschaften ausmacht: Unterschiedlichkeit – und die Notwendigkeit einer fortgesetzten kommunikativen Vermittlung.

 

Wie kann durch die Fotografie das Gesellschaftliche – das schwierige Ganze – wieder in den Blick gerückt werden? Auf welche Weise kann sie heute ein Medium des Demokratischen und der gesellschaftlichen Vermittlung sein? Und wie lassen sich Aushandlungs- und Kommunikationsprozesse fotografisch begleiten? Diesen Fragen geht das 8. Festival für Fotografie f/stop in mehreren Ausstellungsteilen auf dem Gelände der Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei und im Stadtraum nach. Mit einem Projektteil, der sich mit dem Jahr 1990 befasst, soll exemplarisch gezeigt werden, wie Fotografie als ein Mittel der Vergegenwärtigung und Erinnerung dabei helfen kann, einen gesellschaftlichen Diskussionsprozess anzustoßen und als dessen Katalysator zu dienen. Gleichberechtigt neben der Fotografie zeigt das Festival auch Zeichnungen. Als Korrektiv der Fotografie – als ihr Gegenüber – gewinnt das Medium gegenwärtig wieder an Bedeutung.

 

Die Hauptausstellung in der Halle 12 zeigt internationale Positionen, die gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen in ihrer Alltäglichkeit und langen Dauer erfassen. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist die Arbeit „La Vallée“ (2013 – 2018) von Nicolas Giraud und Bertrand Stofleth – ein fotografisches Langzeitprojekt, das den Zerfall der ältesten Industrieregion Frankreichs, dem Gebiet zwischen Lyon und Saint-Étienne, dokumentiert. Auf ähnliche Weise setzt sich Susanne Kriemann mit der Landschaft des Erzgebirges nach dem Ende des Uranbergbaus auseinander. William Faulkners Diktum „Das Vergangene ist nicht tot, es ist nicht einmal vergangen“ besagt, dass das, was wir Geschichte nennen, nichts anderes ist, als die Strahlenkunde einer Gesellschaft. Manche Konfliktlinien erweisen sich in dieser Hinsicht als besonders aktiv, sie strahlen in die Gegenwart, ihre Energien reichen weit in die Zukunft.

 

In Auseinandersetzung mit einer hochfrequenten Vermittlung von Ereignis, ihrem ständigen Abreißen, wie es sich in den Massenmedien etabliert hat, untersuchen viele Arbeiten in der Ausstellung das „Nachleben“ momenthafter Ereignisse und ihrer Langzeitwirkung. Der Schweizer Typograf, Buchgestalter und Fotograf Ludovic Balland etwa hat für „American Readers at Home“ im Vorfeld des US-Wahlkampfs 2016 Amerika bereist und Bürgerinnen und Bürger danach befragt, was ihnen von den Nachrichten des Vortags im Gedächtnis geblieben ist.

Halle 12
Zerrissene Gesellschaft: Ereignisse von langer Dauer

Paula Bulling­/­Anne König, Christiane Eisler­/­Silke Geister, Forensic Architecture, Nicolas Giraud­/­Bertrand Stofleth, Matthias Hoch, Susanne Kriemann, Harald Kirschner, Alexander Kluge, Emanuel Mathias, Anastasia Potemkina, Andreas Rost, Miklós Klaus Rózsa, Erich Salomon, Christoph Schäfer, Andrzej Steinbach, Steffen Zillig u.­a.

Halle 14C
Zerrissene Gesellschaft: Your Land/My Land. Wahlkampf in den USA

Ludovic Balland, Jonathan Horowitz, Ferdinand Kriwet

Galerie Dukan, Halle 18
Zerrissene Gesellschaft: Ibrahim Böhme

Ute Mahler

Spinnerei archiv massiv, Halle 20A
f/stop Print: Im Krankenhaus

Ludwig Kuffer, Andreas Langfeld, Elisabeth Neudörfl, Timm Rautert

 

 

 

Fr, 22. 6. 2018

19:00
Eröffnung Festival und f/stop Komplizen    
21:00 –
04:00
f/stop Party mit Carlotta Jacobi (Feat. Fem), Kanne (IILW), Dorothy Parker (Cry Baby), CMD Q (KANN), Qnete 777 Recordings, ab 21:00 im f/stop Garden neben Halle 12, ab 23:00 weiter im V (Halle 16)    

Sa, 23. 6. 2018

10:00 –
11:00
Führung durch die Ausstellungen mit den f/stop-KuratorInnen Anne König und Jan Wenzel, Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    
11:00 –
19:00
Stündliche Führungen durch die Ausstellungen mit Studierenden des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der Universität Leipzig (Projektmodul „Zerrissene Gesellschaft. Kunst und demokratische Prozesse“, unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Dr. Zimmermann). Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    

So, 24. 6. 2018

10:00 –
11:00
Führung durch die Ausstellungen mit den f/stop-KuratorInnen Anne König und Jan Wenzel, Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    
11:00 –
19:00
Stündliche Führungen durch die Ausstellungen mit Studierenden des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der Universität Leipzig. Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    

Mo, 25. 6. 2018

15:00 –
19:00
Stündliche Führungen durch die Ausstellungen mit Studierenden des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der Universität Leipzig. Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    

Di, 26. 6. 2018

15:00 –
19:00
Stündliche Führungen durch die Ausstellungen mit Studierenden des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der Universität Leipzig. Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    

Mi, 27. 6. 2018

15:00 –
19:00
Stündliche Führungen durch die Ausstellungen mit Studierenden des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der Universität Leipzig. Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    

Do, 28. 6. 2018

15:00 –
19:00
Stündliche Führungen durch die Ausstellungen mit Studierenden des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der Universität Leipzig. Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    

Fr, 29. 6. 2018

15:00 –
19:00
Stündliche Führungen durch die Ausstellungen mit Studierenden des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der Universität Leipzig. Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    

Sa, 30. 6. 2018

10:00 –
11:00
Führung durch die Ausstellungen mit den f/stop-KuratorInnen Anne König und Jan Wenzel, Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    
11:00 –
19:00
Stündliche Führungen durch die Ausstellungen mit Studierenden des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der Universität Leipzig (Projektmodul „Zerrissene Gesellschaft. Kunst und demokratische Prozesse“, Leitung von Prof. Dr. Dr. Zimmermann). Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    

So, 1. 7. 2018

10:00 –
11:00
Führung durch die Ausstellungen mit f/stop-KuratorInnen Anne König. Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum    
11:00 –
19:00
Stündliche Führungen durch die Ausstellungen mit Studierenden des Instituts für Kunstgeschichte der Universität Leipzig. Treffpunkt: Festivalzentrum